• Event

CMS' New Medicare Payment Program: Making Care Primary (MCP) Request for Applications

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) announced a new voluntary primary care model – Making Care Primary (MCP) Model. MCP is a new Medicare value-based care program for Primary Care Practices and Federally Qualified Health Centers (FQHCs) that can provide multiple enhanced payments, IT infrastructure investments, and resources for improving care coordination and outcomes.

Six payment types will be introduced in eight participating states, including New York (specific counties), New Jersey, Colorado, Massachusetts, Minnesota, New Mexico, North Carolina, and Washington.

MDLand is developing a suite of applications to support streamlined participation and success in MCP and other value-based and health equity focused programs. Reach out to see how our certified EHR, telehealth, care management, and social determinants of health (SDOH) solutions can benefit your practice and patients.


To participate in MCP, an organization must:
• Be a legal entity formed under applicable state, federal, or Tribal law authorized to conduct business in each state in which it operates.
• Be Medicare-enrolled.
• Bill for health services furnished to a minimum of 125 attributed Medicare beneficiaries.
• Have the majority (at least 51%) of their primary care sites (physical locations where care is delivered) located in an MCP state.
• See program website and attached table for additional eligibility requirements.

State County Participation
Colorado All Counties
Massachusetts All Counties
Minnesota All Counties
New Jersey All Counties
New Mexico All Counties
New York Putnam; Rockland; Orange; Albany; Schenectady; Montgomery; Greene; Columbia; Rensselaer; Saratoga; Fulton; Schoharie; Washington; Otsego; Hamilton; Delaware; Ulster, Dutchess; Sullivan; Warren; Essex; Clinton; Franklin; Saint Laurence; Onondaga; Cayuga; Oswego; Madison; Cortland; Tompkins; Oneida; Seneca; Chenango; Wayne; Lewis, Herkimer; Jefferson. Tioga; Broome; Erie; Genesee; Niagra; Wyoming; Allegany; Cattarugus; Chattarugus; Orleons; Monroe; Livingston; Yates; Ontario; Steuben; Schuyler; Chemung
North Carolina All Counties
New Mexico Washington

If you are interested in applying to MCP:

• Submit an optional, non-binding letter of intent here. This helps CMS facilitate the application process.
• Read the Request for Applications (RFA) here.
• Learn more about CMS' new MCP Model in the fact sheet here
• Visit CMS' program website for more information on MCP here


• Non-binding letters of intent are being accepted now
• Application Portal opens soon and will close November 2023
• Making Care Primary is a 10.5-year program starting July 1, 2024